Organising Committee - 2020

The Drafting Committee is headed by Convenors who act as the ‘friend, philosopher and guide’ of this exercise and help in evolving consensus on the final draft SOP.

  1. Dr. S. Arulrhaj:
    President 2020 - Association of Physicians of India (API)

Lawyers, law professionals, and other prominent persons associated with the healthcare sector or having the requisite expertise in medical negligence form this committee. The Advisory Committee aids and advices the Organising Committee on the legal aspects of the SOP.

  1. Adv. Balaji Srinivasan:
    Advocate-on-record: Supreme Court of India; Managing Partner: The Medlegal Attorneys
  2. Adv. Mahendrakumar Bajpai:
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India
  3. Mayank Kshirsagar:
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India; Associate: The Medlegal Attorneys
  4. Pratiksha Mishra:
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India
  5. Ranbir Yadav:
    Advocate-on-record: Supreme Court of India
  6. Srishti Govil:
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India; Associate: The Medlegal Attorneys
  7. Adv. Vaishnavi Subrahmanyam:
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India
  8. Adv. Yogendra Singh:
    Advocate: High Court, Mumbai
  9. Adv. Arunava Mukherjee:
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India

The Drafting Committee comprise of doctors only, especially those who are well versed in the Medico-legal space. The Drafting Committee is responsible for making the necessary changes in the draft SOP after considering the comments of all the participants and for preparing the final draft SOP after due deliberations.

  1. Dr. T N Ravisankar:
    Founder-Member: ‘Professional Protection Scheme’ of the IMA (TN); Visiting Faculty in Medical Laws: Anna Institute of Management, Chennai; SRMC and RI, Chennai
  2. Dr. Neeraj Nagpal:
    Convenor - Medicos Legal Action Group; Managing Director - MLAG Indemnity; Ex-President - IMA Chandigarh; Director - Hope Gastrointestinal Diagnostic Clinic
  3. Dr. Shreekant Shetty:
    Member: Academic Council of the Institute of Medicine & Law and Principal Collaborative Reviewer of the Medico Legal Year Book Series
  4. Dr. Rajesh Mishra:
    President Elect 21-22 - Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM)
  5. Dr. Harish Pathak:
    Prof. & Head, Dept. of Forensic Medicine, G S Medical College

Participants comprise of nominees from medical societies, editors of medical journals, medico-legal experts, prominent doctors, and hospitals. They suggest changes in the draft SOP and any new clauses that needed to be added in the SOP.

  1. Dr. Amit Agrawal:
    Professor of Neurosurgery, Department of Neurosurgery, Narayana Medical College Hospital, Nellore, AP
  2. Dr. Amol Aiwale:
    Consultant, MBBS, MD Pharmacology
  3. Dr. Atul Shah:
    Past President - APSI (Plastic surgeon)
  4. Dr. B Krishnamurthy:
  5. Dr. B ShivaShankar:
    President Elect 2020 - IOA
  6. Dr. Balasaheb Bande:
  7. Dr. Dilip Walke:
    Chairperson - Medicolegal Committe, FOGSI & Past President, POGSI (Pune)
  8. Dr. Dinkar Desai:
    IMA - Thane, President
  9. Dr. Hariharan Sathananthan:
    Consultant internal medicine Glenangle global hospital Chennai
  10. Dr. K Lakshman:
    Consultant Surgeon , Associate Editor - Indian Journal of Surgery
  11. Dr. Lalit Shah:
    MEDICO-Legal Cell
  12. Dr. Madhu Sudan Agrawal:
    IMM Past President - Urological Society of India.
  13. Dr. Mandar Sane:
    Assistant Professor - Dept of Forensic Medicine & Toxicology, AIIMS, Nagpur
  14. Dr. Mangesh Tiwaskar:
    Hon. General Secretary - Association of Physicians of India (National API) , Consultant Physician & Diabetologist
  15. Dr. Navin Goyal:
    Laproscopic Surgeon ,GBH American Hospital,Udaipur
  16. Dr. Pragnesh Parmar:
    Professor & HOD Forensic Medicine DepartmentGMERS Medical College
  17. Dr. Prashant Bhartiya:
    Eye Surgeon and Corneal Transplant Surgeon, Director, Suprabhat Healthcare
  18. Dr. Pratibha Kane:
    HOD ept. Of Anaesthesiology, Jehangir Hospital Pune
  19. Dr. Rahul Wani:
    Hon. Consultant Mathadi Hospital Trust, Medicolegal Consultant, Lead Assesor Lakshya Manyata Program FOGSI, President-Elect - Navi Mumbai Obstetric and Gynaecological Society (NMOGS)
  20. Dr. Ramalingam:
    Senior Assistant Professor Institute of Forensic Medicine Madras Medical College Chennai
  21. Dr. Subhal Dixit:
    Imm Past President - Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM)
  22. Dr. Suhas Pawar:
    Deputy Director - Sir HN Reliance Foundation Hospital
  23. Dr. Sunil Khetarpal:
  24. Dr. Nirmal Fredricks:
    Official Nominee: Indian Medical Association, Tamil Nadu State Branch
  25. Dr. Yash Javeri:
    "Head - Critical Care Medicine,Anesthesia & Emergency Regency Super Speciality Hospital - Lucknow Convener -Indian Sepsis Forum CII Covid Medical Task Force Member"
  26. Dr. Barun Nayak:
    Consultant and Head, Ophthalmology Dept, P D Hinduja Hospital & MRC, Mumbai ,President elect AIOS ,VICE President GSI
  27. Dr. D P Prakash:
    Chief eye surgeon- American Eyecare & LASIK Centres
  28. Dr. Dhruv Chaudhary:
    President - Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM)
  29. Dr. Hemant Gangolia:
    Medico legal cell / IAP President- Raigad
  30. Dr. Jeyanthan Soundarapandian:
    CONSULTANT, Refractive surgery, @ K.S. EYE HOSPITAL, ERODE
  31. Dr. N Rajeswari:
    Consultant ophthalmologist
  32. Dr. Sathian Nagamalai:
    Medical Director, Eye Trust Hospital
  33. Dr. Shobana Srinivas:
    Administrator Darshan eye care and Darshan Surgical centre
  34. Dr. Sriniwas Samveda:
    General Secretary - Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM)
  35. Dr. Venkatraman:
  36. Dr.G.S Bhattacharyya:
    Ex-President: Indian Society of Medical & Pediatric Oncology; In-Charge Dept. of Medical Oncology, Fortis Hospital, Kolkata
  37. Dr. Deepak Govil:
    President Elect 2020-021 - Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM), Director Critical Care, Medanta The Medicity, Gurgaon